What a fascinating picture......
... viewing the Strait of Poros surrounded
by pine, olive, orange and lemon trees. The
beauty of the area has been appreciated and
praised by prominent writers, poets and artists.
Nobel winners such as George
the distinguished American writer Henry
Miller are some of the island’s admirers.
Many of the houses of Poros are samples of neoclassicism.
The Deimezi building, made out of gray and red stone, the
shop of Grivas, with wide doors and a beautiful interior
décor and several others. Villa Galini, though, is considered
one of the finest constructions of Poros, built in 1892,
which has accommodated famous Art and Literature personalities.
One of the biggest attractions are the neighborhoods
Tourists and visitors wander among the narrow alleyways of
Poros and the white-washed two-story homes in Brinia, Mylos,
Punta and Kastelli, full of bougainvillea.
Ascending, after the square of the
Town Hall, the picturesque white paves, we
reach the small
Church of Saint George with small
taverns and shops around it. You will be thrilled
by the large Platanus that exists in the tavern
Platanos, it is 200 years old.
The Archaeological Museum of
Poros, located in Korizi Square is open to
the public daily from 9.00 to 15.00 except
Mondays. Here you will see findings dated
from the Mycenaean to the Roman era that arose
from the excavations of the Temple of Poseidon,
Ancient Trizina, the Royal Tombs of Magoulas
and Apatheia, from Modi and St Konstantinos
of Methana. One can even see the magnificent
frescoes made by Parthenis in the Cathedral of St. George and
visit the Hatzopouleio Public Library.
The conference room of the City of Poros
is situated in a historical landmark building
designed by a famous German architect, Ernest
Chiller. The neoclassical building,renovated
in 2002, has a unique artistic quality in
detail and can host major conferences for
the city, various committees and other private
The Monastery of Zoodohos
Pygi (18th century), built on
a green hillside overlooking the sea, is
an example of the island’s convent architecture.
It combines tranquility with simplicity and
At the monastery’s entrance there is a fountain
which is famous for its healing properties.
It was named after the side of a stream, beneath
towering trees, over the sea. Founded and
built by the Bishop of Athens Jacob II at
his own expense along with contributions offered
by various residents of Poros.
The church has a basilica style with a dome.
It’s interior is very impressive with the
wooden carved alter (made in Cappadocia, Asia
Minor around the 17th century) as well as
the Episcopal throne.
The ruins of the Russian
Naval Base.are found 5 kilometers
to the north In 1834, warehouses and bakeries
were set up there to refuel and replenish
the Russian fleet with supplies while they
were sailing in the Aegean Sea. The Russians
kept the property until 1900. Since 1989,
by decree, the Russian Naval Base was declared
a historical landmark, because of its great
architectural and historical interest.
the spiral road covered by large pine trees,
we arrive at the Chapel of Our Lady
of Agia Zoni, which is celebrated
on July 2nd. Located between a gorge with
lush plane trees and running water. It is
one of the most beautiful spots in Poros
where many marriages and baptisms take place.
The Diavologefyro is
a steep area of wild beauty. located right
after the village of Trizina. It's a beautiful
cliff with lush plants, full of oleanders,
plane and old trees . In the background you
will see a small river running The water falls
from the mountains creating small lakes in
some parts and surrounded by huge rocks. The
gorge has walking access , abundant plant
life, no trace of civilization and includes
many activities like water slides, jumping,
etc. Amazingly, there is running water even
The Lemon Grove (Lemonodasos) is
a big area full of lemon trees with lots of
water and water mills. From the top, the view
is panoramic It is basically a forest of over
30,000 lemon and orange trees with scattered
taverns all around. Green lemon and orange
trees that smell delightfully and provide
the perfect setting for romantic strolls.
east of the port is the islet
of Bourtzi with its
small castle, built in 1827 by the Bavarian
philhellene K.Eintek to protect the harbor.
Located on the cove of the monastery near
the Peloponnesian coast where anyone can
swim to visit it. The castle helped the people
of Poros detect ships coming from Hydra.
Today it is uninhabited.